Skip navigation

Countries Information

  1. HOME
  2. Policy Information
  3. International Organization
fealac logo

FEALAC(Forum for East Asia-Latin America Cooperation)


  • The Forum for East Asia-Latin America Cooperation (FEALAC) is the only inter-regional consultation mechanism between East Asia and Latin America and consists of 16 East Asia countries and 20 Latin American countries.

    East Asia and Latin America, both comprised mainly of developing countries, are economically dynamic and complementary to each other. With the rising global trend of regional cooperation, the need for intercontinental cooperation between East Asia and Latin America arose since there was no official cooperative mechanism bridging the two regions.

    In September of 1998, a concrete proposal to enhance the relations of the two regions was initiated by the then Prime Minister of Singapore Gho Chok Tong. Subsequently the EALAF (East Asia-Latin America Forum) Senior Officials' Meeting was held in Singapore in 1999, marking the beginning of FEALAC. At the first Foreign Ministers' Meeting in Santiago, Chile in 2001, EALAF was officially renamed FEALAC.

    FEALAC mainly consists of regular meetings held at three levels : the Foreign Ministers, the Senior Officials and the Working Level Officials. In addition, member countries voluntarily carry out National Projects under four Working Groups :
    W/G 1: Working Group on Socio-Political Cooperation and Sustainable Development W/G 2: Working Group on Trade, Investment, Tourism and MSMEs W/G 3: Working Group on Culture, Youth, Gender and Sports W/G 4: Working Group on Science, Technology, Innovation and Education

    FEALAC aims to promote cooperation, better understanding, and political and economic dialogue between East Asia and Latin America in order to achieve more effective, cooperative, and fruitful relations in all areas.

    FEALAC Website