Skip navigation

Countries Information

  1. HOME
  2. Press
  3. Press Releases
Press Releases
Press Releases 상세보기

MIKTA Foreign Ministers Adopt Joint Statement to Condemn Terrorist Bombings in Surabaya, Indonesia

  • Date : 2018-05-15 16:22:36
  • Hit : 583
첨부파일 MIKTA Joint Statement.pdf

1. The foreign ministers from the five member states of MIKTA -- Mexico, Indonesia, (the Republic of) Korea, Turkey and Australia -- adopted on May 14  a joint statement to condemn the terrorist attacks committed in Surabaya, Indonesia, on May 13 and 14.


* MIKTA is a cooperative mechanism among the aforementioned middle power countries launched on September 25, 2013, during the 68th session of the UN General Assembly in New York.


° In their joint statement, the foreign ministers condemned “in the strongest possible terms, the atrocious terrorist attacks… in Surabaya, Indonesia,” that occurred on May 13 and 14, and expressed “condolences and solidarity with the Indonesian government and people, as well as the victims and their families.”


° The foreign ministers condemned “all acts, methods and practices of terrorism… as it constitutes one of the gravest threats to international peace and security,” stressing that “Terrorism cannot and should not be associated with any religion, nationality, civilization, or ethnic group.”


° The foreign ministers from the MIKTA member states added that they remain united in combatting terrorism through increased collaboration among MIKTA countries and other global cooperation.”


2. The 12th MIKTA foreign ministerial meeting will take place in Buenos Aires on May 21 on the sidelines of the G20 foreign ministerial meeting. In their forthcoming meeting, the foreign ministers from the MIKTA member states will discuss ways to step up MIKTA cooperation and to work together on regional and global issues.


* The ROK’s head delegate to the meeting will be Vice Foreign Minister Cho Hyun.



The full text of the MIKTA joint statement attached.



* unofficial translation